Books, Books, and More Books…

Eventually I’d like to start a Read This Month feature on the blog. In order to do so I’ve begun to keep a little better track of my books on Goodreads (I’m here if you want to friend me.) 🙂 But I still haven’t done a great job of it, so rather than a list of books I read in July, these are the more memorable books I’ve read so far this year…

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson. I’m a huge fan of Brandon Sanderson, even though I only discovered him last year. This book was excellent because of the many twists he threw into it–twists that completely took me by surprise, yet had me grumbling that I “should’ve seen it coming”. I loved the clash of the cultures especially.

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson. Clockpunk. A magic system based on chalk drawings. Really, what isn’t there to love here? Absolutely adored it.

Demon: A Memoir by Tosca Lee. The descriptions were incredibly rich in this book, the story less so. It felt a bit…incomplete. And the titular demon, Lucian, fell a bit flat for me after a while. Still, it was a good read, and definitely a thought-provoking one. I’ve never really considered how it would be to live a life totally without access to God’s grace.

Inkheart by Cornelia FunkeYou need only read my Books Are Memories series (PART 1 and PART 2) to see how I feel about this book.

Artful by Peter David. While I liked the concept of this book (the Artful Dodger from Dickens’ Oliver Twist becomes a vampire hunter, essentially), despite having never read Oliver Twist, it fell a bit flat for me, especially since the author tried to adopt the Victorian writing tone. Don’t get me wrong, it was a fun, light, pulp-fiction-type read, but it definitely had its issues.

Charmed Life/The Lives of Christopher Chant by Diana Wynn Jones. I basically adore anything by Diana Wynn Jones, and this series is proving to be no exception. I thought the idea of nine lives was really cool.

The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks. Ugh. I made it the first couple of chapters in  and couldn’t stomach it any further. I just couldn’t.

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. This was another cool-concept book that fell kind of flat to me. The main character, Jacob, really got on my nerves after a bit (dude, please, just shut your mouth and stop whining. PLEASE.) and though it promised to be creepy, I never felt like it lived up to it’s full creep-factor potential. Oh, and the romance. That was just weird. Still, I’ll be reading the next one, because it hooked me.

Cloak by James Gough. It had some narrative issues (jerky-feeling prose occasionally, that sort of thing) but man. I LOVED the concept. It was a lot of fun.

The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum. You know, I thought I’d love this book, because I love the movies. Nope. Got halfway through and called it quits. I had absolutely no interest in it–and, since it was quite different from the movie, I don’t think it’s because I knew what was going to happen. I just couldn’t get into it.

The Artemis Fowl series (Artemis Fowl; The Arctic Incident; The Eternity Code; The Opal Deception; The Lost Colony): I started listening to these a couple of years ago, LOVED them, and then, for some reason, lost track of them once I hit The Lost Colony (the weakest novel in the series IMHO.)

So, there you go. My reading list so far. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep a handle on things better so I can make this a monthly or bi-monthly feature.

CURRENTLY READING:

One Realm Beyond by Donita K. Paul

Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer.

-The Third Lynx (Quadrail series #4) by Timothy Zahn

 

Leave a comment